Liquid filet mignon for lunch on the menu today. 


It always makes me feel a little weird when I go to my doctor and I am the one asking for specific tests and for exactly what I need.  But after living in this body for 39 yrs and dealing with it’s “issues”, I’m starting to get the hang of it.  For the past few weeks I have been more tired than usual. I’ve been more short of breath and my heart started to feel like it was working over time. At first I just attributed it to the traveling I was doing. Maybe I over did myself, ate too many tacos or putting my body through hell in higher altitudes from my trip to NM.  But after nearly two weeks of being home and not getting better, it hit me…maybe I’m low on iron again!  So yesterday I went in to see my doc and asked her to run some labs.  More specifically, I wanted to check my ferritin level.  Normal is between 12-150.  Mine was 34.  Yes, I know, that is within the normal range.  However, when you also account for my other health issues, pulmonary htn and HF, that’s pretty low!  My heart has a hard time pumping 02 as it is, and My UW doc wants my ferritin to be around 100.  So here I sit this afternoon, getting an iron infusion.  I pat myself on the back today, for being my own advocate.  I am also grateful I have a Dr who listens to me and trusts me as well.  We have to speak up for ourselves as patients.  If you feel something is wrong you need to listen to what your body is saying! If you feel your Dr isn’t listening, get a second opinion! 

Leave a Reply

