Trips galore…on the road again.

Hi all!  Tomorrow, I will be heading with my husband and son to New Mexico where I was born.  We will be there visiting family and eating a shit ton of green and red chili!  I am sure I will be somewhat non-compliant with my low sodium diet because my family has some kind of obsession with salt!  Seriously, it is ridiculous and surprising they all do not have heart disease!  Anyway, we will be enjoying ourselves immensely.  Though, I am a bit scared about the altitude.  Spokane sits at about 1800ft, my house is at 2300ft.  People with Pulmonary hypertension or heart failure do not do well with high altitudes.  Albuquerque sits around 5300ft, is where my mom lives.  Grants, NM, where my dad and most family live (the town I was born) sits at 6400ft!  I hope I can acclimate to it ok but I am sure I will be more tired and more short of breath than usual.  I may have to crank my oxygen way up! While I was in San Diego, at Sea level, I felt amazing!  I even forgot I needed oxygen once and nearly left a restaurant without my concentrator!  I will put up a few articles i found that explain how high altitudes may affect someone with cardiopulmonary problems at the bottom of this page.

I know some of you were hoping t0 hear what UCSD had to say about new lungs.  I am sorry to report I have not heard the “final” word yet.  I should get news day and I don’t wanna write about it until then.  However, I wanted to share some pics from the trip!    I’ll check in when I am home, please send good vibes and thoughts of clean air my way! 🙂

 

http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/901668-overview

The Effects of Altitude on Lung Disease

http://www.altitudemedicine.org/altitude-and-pre-existing-conditions/

https://www.gofundme.com/4gzbpkhc

 

2 thoughts on “Trips galore…on the road again.

  1. I love your stories! Keep smiling beautiful soul!! ❤️💛💚 and I understand it’s not the same as vacation, but look at all the beautiful places you’ve traveled!! Keep that positivity in your step! You are so inspiring and are in my thoughts and prayers daily! I’m sending good positive vibesfor your altitude challenges! ☀️⭐️😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please have another SAFE, fun trip with family. Hey…….if the altitude is too much, come over here to Bullhead City, where I think we’re 200-500 ft. Above sea level. I fly out Friday, but you’re welcome to come here, anytime. Please check in, tell your Mom hi from us. Love you Drea, Scott & Evan.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

